i heart handmade cards!

Why?  Because they add such a personal touch to a gift and let’s face it: they’re fun to make!  Plus, I have a moderate to severe obsession with Dollar Stores, which always have such cute little decals and embellishments.  Seriously, if there is a Dollar Store within a visible range, watch out!  (Much to my hubby’s chagrin.  He waits in the car.)

As for materials, I’m a big fan of the rub-on alphabets.  I’m less keen on the sticker letters, but sometimes they can be cute.  With alphabet decals, sticker or rub-on, I’ve learned that you’ve really gotta plan your message so you can ensure you have enough ‘a’s, ‘r’s and ‘y’s, etc!  I’ve become a little creative with altering letters when I haven’t planned properly…

Who would know that in Cynthia’s birthday card, the ‘y’ in her name was actually a ‘g’, the ‘h’ was a ‘b’ and the ‘a’ was a ‘d’?!  (Catch that?)

#1: for my hubs

#2: my friend's birthday

#3: for my bestie, who is amazing!

I’m also a big fan of the sticky pieces that make images pop out.  I’m not sure what they’re called… sticky squares?  Puffy squares?  I dunno. These:

sticky puffy squares

I love ’em.  Instead of gluing an image right on the card, by using some o’ these they add some dimension.  They really make a huge difference!

The year of handmade cards is going well…  5 for 5! :)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

