what did I step in?

I love children’s games.  I don’t have any kids, but as a speech therapist I work with them on a daily basis!  There are so many fun games out there to play with the kiddos, while working on speech and language.

We have lots of games and resources at work, but I like to have my own stash.  As a new clinician, however, developing said stash can get a little pricey!  So I have decided to get a little creative.

Have you seen this game?

Kids love it.  It’s basically a hyped up, silly memory game.  There’s a little shoe with a suction cup on the bottom, and you use the shoe to “step” on the cards to pick them up!

But I figured I could make my own version of this game.  So, I picked up a little shoe keychain from the dollar store and used a suction cup that I had from my Venus razor shower-wall-thingy-that-never-stays-up-anyways.

I carved a small hole in the bottom of the shoe, and glued in the suction cup.

Let the glue dry, and voila!


My own little suction cup shoe!  Now I can “step” to my heart’s content.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “what did I step in?

  1. Stop it, Charmaine! I can’t get over how crafty you are – incredible! Also, what’s with this game?!?! What did I step in?! Bahahahaha.

  2. Thanks, Linds! I have fun. Especially since the hubby is out of town and I can spread out all over the dining room table and not feel guilty about it :)

  3. Too cute! You can tell I’m an, er, “experienced” SLP (that’s code for ‘old’) because I never make my own stuff anymore! But I’m tempted to do this. :)

  4. I totally get trying to “bulk your stash of games”…when I started teaching, I spent loads of $. In therapy, I know my son’s Moose had therapists who struggled to do the same!

    If you have a moment today, please share this with my readers @Creative Juice Thursday Hope to see yours among all the amazing projects!

Leave a Reply

