Handmade Gift Exchange Project

Here it is – my project for Linda’s handmade gift exchange!  Now, I am sure you are all familiar with the scrabble tile pendant concept – it even looks like it was the gift of choice for many of you gift exchangers!  So this may feel a little passé for some, but it was a new project for me and I thought this was a great opportunity for me to try my hand at it.

As I have mentioned, in our email exchanges my crafting partner told me that she was interested in “the 1940s, 1950s and science.” So I had a bit to work with! However, I thought it would be more fun to go for more of a vintage feel, minus the science (sorry Sydnee!).

After some sleuthing I found out that she likes sewing.  So, I figured as my image I would use a vintage sewing pattern!

I chose this one:


(source)

I shrunk it down to a scrabble tile size, printed it off, and with the help of these materials,


created this:


After some roadblocks along the way (ahem, 4 clasps and a few scrabble tiles later) I realized that I probably could have looked up a tutorial or something.  Oh well – I improvised (hence a little Krazy glue and the pliers with cotton balls taped to them…) and I think it turned out pretty well!

Sydnee, I hope you like!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Handmade Gift Exchange Project

  1. Jeannie

    This necklace is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

