Let’s get natural… natural..

(Title sung to the tune of a certain Olivia Newton-John song.)

So lately I have been looking into ways to make my life a little greener.  I wish I could say it was because I have this genuine urge to be easier on the planet.  That is definitely partly it, but it more stems from not wanting to breathe in/absorb all those unpronounceable chemicals in household cleaners and detergents. (Just being honest!)

To this end, I had started purchasing my standard brands, but instead choosing varieties that said “green” on them (e.g. Clorox GreenWorks).  They made me feel a little better about it, but I truly wonder if they are really as “green” as they claim on the bottle.

So today I thought I’d venture a step further.  I know you can make home “recipes” for household cleaners, so I thought I would give it a shot! I chose an All-Purpose Cleaner as my first venture.

All-Purpose Cleaner

(source)

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 15 drops of essential oil (I used Lavender)

I was a bit wary of using vinegar, because let’s be honest – I don’t want my bathroom to smell like vinegar after I’m done with it.  I want it to smell fresh and clean! (So fresh and so clean.. )

I just made this and tried it out – it worked like a charm!  The few drops of essential oil definitely balance out the vinegar smell.  And did you know that vinegar is a natural disinfectant?  I didn’t.

So I think I will try this out for a while. See how it goes!  I might try my hand at a few other home remedies and report back.

Of course, after I made the cleaner I could only think about making a pretty label for the bottle.  So I did.  See?

As I was Googling sample labels I came across Amy’s blog.  She has some lovely labels for the recipe that she uses – if you are interested you should check it out!  I used her labels as a template for creating my own (thanks Amy!).  I got a little impatient and wanted to put the label on right that moment, so I printed it off on paper and mod podged it on.  But (like Amy suggests), printing off on shipping label stickers would work out better.

But seriously – isn’t this little bottle way cuter than anything made by Clorox?  And that’s what really matters, right?  :)


Linking up at Tidy Mom, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Polkadots on Parade, and Sew Much Ado.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Let’s get natural… natural..

  1. Tess

    Awesome idea. I will be trying this out. :)
    Tess

  2. Oh cool, I may have to try this, thanks!

  3. Pingback: Let’s get natural (pt 2.) « Happy as a Bee … the ventures of a wannabe crafter

  4. However social media marketers will jump on those
    numbers as proof that the pool of 205,654 users who ‘Like’ Ford offers the
    company an amazing opportunity to ‘engage’ with them, and consequently once the ‘engagement’ is cemented, the appreciate will flow in between brand and followers,
    and they will head off into the sunset hand-in-hand.
    I am not so positive. These very same social marketers will also protest that Ford is receiving it
    incorrect by not ‘engaging’ appropriately with their followers.
    facebook likes application (realbania.terahost.eu)

Leave a Reply

