Cute as a button!

Disclaimer:  I don’t generally make things to wear.  I think this may be because in my twenty-something years I have yet to really find my “style,” so making myself something that I would actually put on seems like a stretch.  But I keep seeing fabric covered button earrings everywhere, and they seemed pretty cute and doable!  Jewelry I can handle.

This tutorial was really useful!  I only had really big buttons at home, but I figured that it would be a good trial run in case I mess it up (which, let’s be honest, is highly possible!).

Here is a (very) brief capture of the process in pictures:

   

   

Ta-da!

They look cute, but they are definitely not wear-worthy!  I learned a few things:

  1. Glue gun (vs. white glue) may work better
  2. Smaller buttons, fo sho
  3. Careful when stretching out the fabric because pattern may get distorted
  4. Be cautious of uniform cotton dispersion, otherwise you get this:

Live ‘n learn.  I’ll be trying this again once I get my hands on some smaller buttons.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

