Let’s get natural (pt 2.)

As I was searching for a recipe for homemade, natural cleaning supplies, I came across all kinds of green-living websites. Gotta say, I quickly passed through some that were a little too hippie for me, required too much effort, or insisted on totally obscure ingredients that I would require a lengthy search and a hefty bill.

But a blog by Sayward at Bonzai Aphrodite was different!  I love her simple recipes for natural, homemade cleaning supplies.  She basically fulfilled all of my criteria for not passing by her website.  (Plus, her writing style is really personable which always helps!)

A little while ago I made a simple homemade cleaner, and since it was so easy I thought I’d try another.  So I revisited Sayward’s blog.

I give you,

Homemade Dish Soap

Um, that’s it?  Yes!  She also suggests using a few drops of essential oil if you purchase unscented soap.  I bought the Lemon scented kind, because it is the quintessential ‘clean’ smell.  Also, because it cost the same as unscented and I’d rather not spend extra on buying lemon essential oil… (made sense to me!)  See the original post/recipe here.

I hesitate calling it “homemade” soap because you are basically buying a different kind of soap.  But you can feel much better about it, since it’s all natural!  (And still makes suds, which I was afraid of losing!)

Plus, the glass bottle looks much prettier than anything you would buy.  (I seem to be hung up on this.)  I encourage you to try it yourself!

Palmolive, look out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

